Finding the right path to follow

I feel like everything I’m doing is kind of a waste of time…

Idk, I feel so half hearted about everything. About life, about college, the things I study etc. I feel like I’m not living life to the fullest or there’s so much more out there that I haven’t seen. I really hate this feeling.

I’ve started to think deeply about my future and what career I should pursue and I’m confused. Since a little girl I was so set on music I used to write songs but now I feel like I’m not as passionate as I was before. I mean I still sing and listen to music all the time but it’s not the same, I don’t have the opportunity to keep doing music in college as I did in secondary school. It’s always been a childhood dream of mine, I still to this day imagine what my concerts would be like, think about my music videos and etc. It’s always something that’s been apart of me that lives in my heart yet I have this constant fear that I won’t make it and it’s going to be a waste of time which prevents me from getting into it any deeper. There’s way too many people who are better than me I just don’t feel good enough. Although I can’t think about myself doing anything else, I can’t sit in an office behind a computer for 10+ years, that lifestyle isn’t for me especially when you have the desire to do something else.

When I brought up the idea to my mum before about pursuing music she wasn’t happy and said I should keep it as a hobby. I wouldn’t ever change my dream because of her, if you’re really passionate about something no mater what your mum, dad, friends or anyone says you should lead with it. Don’t let people dictate how you live because it’s your life at the end of the day. You don’t want to be middle aged and reflect on the chances you never took and be filled with regret.

If you’re in the same position as me and still trying to figure out your career path you’re not alone. Don’t worry you have time to figure out what you want to do. I know time goes really fast, next year I’m going to be 18 (still gonna be midget yaaay) but there’s so much help out there. Speak to your family, friends and teachers for some guidance and advice. I think I’m going to email my teacher because he’s one of wisest people I know so I’m pretty sure he’ll give me some good advice.

Thinking about your future may cause anxiety/worry. Scared that you’re not going to get where you need to be, doing something you hate or not making your parents  proud. There’s so many concerns that we probably think about and its’s perfectly fine, tbh if u didn’t think about your future at all that’s something to worry about. I guess it’s safe to say it’s  good to worry because it shows you care but don’t stress yourself out about it. As I said you’re still young, don’t rush into figuring out what you want to do because you still have time. Don’t let anyone pressure you into picking something or doing something you don’t want to do because you could have spent that time doing something else you actually enjoyed.

Remember you’re living for yourself!! Your life is YOUR life. Every decision you make will have different effects on the way your life unfolds. You spend the majority of your life working so make sure you find something that you’ll love to do.

Love from,

Roxy xoxo 

Leave a Reply

